Grayson Volume 1

9 Jun

I must confess when Grayson was launched, I really wasn’t all that interested.  The idea of Dick Grayson being a spy with a gun seemed to run counter to everything I liked about the character.  And honestly, I never really read many solo titles about him anyway.  I loved Snyder’s run with him as Batman in Detective Comics several years ago and I enjoyed the early volumes of his new 52 series but I hadn’t read much more than that.  And the promotional image telling fans we didn’t know Dick, just seemed……well, right up there with DC’s other promotional mishaps of late: the WTF covers from several years ago or the “Draw Harley naked and committing suicide” fiasco.  So imagine my surprise when I had the chance to read a promotional copy of Grayson volume 1 from Netgalley, and found that I really enjoyed the story.

Now, I do want to say, there were still parts of the book that I didn’t care for.  Although I am a huge fan of DC comics, I must confess I have never cared much for Grant Morrison’s writing, so I had no background information on Spyral and found the spy organization to be somewhat derivative of Chase, a wonderful and offbeat DC title from my youth.  Replace the mysterious leader with no face with Mr. Bones, the head of the DEO who has no face (just a skull) and you are good to go.  And I will say, at least in the digital promotional copy, the last chapter accidentally duplicates the prior chapter.  I hope they fix that in the print copy or regular digital copy.

Other than those two minor complaints, though, I will say the majority of the book was really fun.  The characters were fun to read.  Dick’s relationship with his partner (former Huntress) was interesting.  She is the classic spy who only sees the work and he is Dick Grayson, the hero with the heart of gold.  A brief romantic interest is introduced and handled in a way I didn’t see. Finally, the overarching mystery of “super body part implants” was a different type of threat than you normally see in the superhero comics I read.

From what I understand, Tom King, writer of the series, was in the CIA.  That fact is apparent when you read the series.  He writes the spy world the way I imagine it to be.  Cloaks and daggers are everywhere and outside of our title hero, probably no one can be trusted. I like that.  I believe this series has a great deal of potential and look forward to the second volume.

Leave a Reply

