My Initial Thoughts on Injustice: Gods Among Us

26 Mar

Life has been very chaotic lately, leading to infrequent updates on my random musings on things. Between my last update and today, something shocking has occurred. I went from a mild interest in the upcoming fighting game, Injustice Gods Among Us, to an intense desire that is driving me insane. I must confess, I also found out I have OCD which could explain the upcoming insanity rush. That said, there are several reasons why I heartily recommend this to any fan of comics or fighting games.

1) The roster of the game is sizeable and diverse. Having recently rediscovered the joy of Punch-Out (thank goodness for the Wii U Virtual console!), I had to explain to my step-son that old fighting games didn’t have huge rosters. My favorite fighter ever (probably), the amazing Street Fighter 2, only had 8 characters to choose from! So, now, a fighter with some of my favorite characters ever has 24 characters and I am in shock. Even better: four more are already announced for DLC. Confirmed characters range from obvious (but very different characters) like Superman and Batman to much less likely choices such as Killer Frost. Personal favorites include Green Lantern, Flash, Sinestro, and Deathstroke:D.

2) The DLC bonuses also look really good. I preordered my copy at Gamestop before the preorder bonuses were announced, but they each offer the potential of excitement in the near future when the bonuses become available to any willing to pay. Because I preordered from Gamestop, I got the Red Son pack, which includes three character skins (Superman, Wonder Woman, and Grundy) and twenty extra challenge missions. The Red Son pack is based on a classic Elseworlds (think Trek Mirror Universe) where Superman lands in the Soviet Union instead of Kansas. Best Buy is offering a Blackest Night pack of skins (and hopefully more missions?). In Blackest Night, DC characters who had died either came back as zombies, or if like Superman, had already returned, were taken over by the big baddie Nekron. It is my favorite recent storyline in comics. And though Wal-mart seems to get the short of the bonuses, they offer skins based on Arkham Asylum/ City, one of DC’s best games ever, and include a copy of Mortal Kombat vs DC, Neatherrealm’s prior entry in DC fighting games.

3) Finally, it has 240 challenge missions divided amongst the characters. They range from simple fighting missions to “regular game missions.” One I saw on a developer video included a stage for Catwoman where you control her character and navigate through the Gotham Museum without being spotted by security. In another, for Superman, he and Green Lantern wind up in the classic heat vision/power ring blast lock, and you have to break through. The potential these missions offer to the game are vast.

There is much more I would like to say about the game and hopefully I will add more as we get closer. Expect a full review at launch, sometime after April 16. If you plan on getting the game, please let me know what you think. If you aren’t planning on getting it and feel like telling me in the comments below, please do so also. Hope to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

