Retro DC returns

21 Jul

 

The Injustice Gang returns

Many new ideas are coming out of DC right now.  Of all the new ideas, though, few excite me as much as the “DC Retro” books that are coming out this month and next.  The idea is fairly simple.  Take some of DC’s most popular characters since the 70s, throw classic writers and artists on them, and tell stories set in the 70s, 80, and 90s, which are some of DC’s greatest eras. 

A major reason to read these books is that it is a chance to get a new Superman story by Marv Wolfman connected to the original Crisis.  It is a classic story by Wolfman.  Where else can you see Roy Thomas writing Wonder Woman now?  Honestly, I really didn’t know he was writing much of anything other than Alter Ego right now.  Denny O’Neil will be writing Hal Jordan.  And it will be a chance to see the Satellite Era Justice League again.  This is great!

The book I am most excited about is the Justice League story set in the 90s.  Anytime I can see Keith Giffen and J.M. Demattias on the Justice League I want to be there.  Kevin Maguire is the only artist who could do the art on this title and he is coming back.  This is my all time favorite run on any book ever.  The humor is classic and there are few other books that I always recommend to new comic readers.  And at least as of right now, Keith and J.M. have said this is the last time they will be on the book again.  I have to read this book. 

The single most exciting part of the concept though is that the books are being released digitally the same day they are being released in print.  This is great.  I stopped going to the comic shop a few months ago, when my wife ordered me comics from DC.  These books were announced right afterwards and I was disappointed.  I really didn’t want to miss them, but I live pretty far from the local comic store.  Now, I don’t have to worry about it.  It’s great.  This is your perfect chance to read classic writers and artists on classic characters and you don’t even have to leave your own house.  Who could ask for more?

Leave a Reply

